Doctor of the Year Award

2023 Doctor of the Year Award

doctor of the year

Dr. BK Vargas being recognized in 2023 by Chief Medical Officer, Craig Burrows, MD.

Mammoth Hospital is pleased to present the Doctor of the Year Awards, annually. One doctor from the clinics and one from the hospital will be recognized as the 2023 Doctor of the Year as well as a third who will receive the Dennis Crunk Distinguished Physician Award.


  • Doctor of the Year – Clinic: Stephen Knecht, MD – Orthopedics
  • Doctor of the Year – Hospital: BK Vargas, MD – Emergency Department
  • Dennis Crunk Distinguished Physician Award: Fru Bahiraei, MD – General Surgery

Nominating a physician is easy. Just think of a doctor who embodies our mission, “to promote the well-being and improve the health of our residents and guests,” and has made an impact on your life, a family member, or maybe someone you know.

Our Mammoth Hospital physicians work so hard to keep us all healthy. This is a small way of saying thank you for putting Patients First!

We encourage you to nominate a doctor from the Hospital, the Clinic, or both.
And consider a gift to the Mammoth Hospital Foundation in honor of a physician

    Your Contact Information

    Thank you for taking the time to nominate an exceptional doctor for this award. Please tell us about yourself, so that we may include you in the celebration of this award should the doctor you nominate be chosen.

    First Name (required)

    Last Name (required)

    Your Email (required)


    I am (please select one)


    Doctor You Would Like to Nominate

    This doctor’s clinical skill and especially her/his compassionate care exemplify the kind of doctor that our patients, their families, and our staff recognize as an outstanding role model.

    First Name

    Last Name


    Please describe a situation involving the doctor you are nominating that clearly demonstrates he/she meets the criteria for Doctor of the Year

    Your Message